Home :: Customer reviews

Reviews

Most useful first | Newest first  
31 Results Found
Displaying Results 1 - 25
Richard Steiner about  Vortex Strike .30 Pellets:
May 7, 2021
This customer purchased the item at our site.
OMG...did I say OMG!
I used these in Hatsans Carnivore 135QE and OMG. I have the same rifle in .177 and the difference. Man, these went through 1" of solid cardboard backed up with 2 1/2" carpet squares that have about 1/4" of rubber backing...maybe I need some steel behind this...
After sighting using the Predator pellet, I used these and they were spot on.

Disadvantages: None
Feb 3, 2021
This customer purchased the item at our site.
I bought a pack back on 12/26/20 and they arrived 4 days later. Mine was .22. The pellets are well organized and ID'd so you know what you're shooting.

Advantages: You get to try out pellets without having to buy whole tins.

Disadvantages: Nothing.
Michael Miedzianowski about  Straight Shooters Full Pellet Sampler .25:
Nov 3, 2020
I bought this for my Hatsan since to buy seperate tins would be so expensive to find the perfect pellet and THIS gave a GREAT VARIETY and I found the pellet I shoot best here .

Advantages: Fantastic variety of pellets and weights well separated and packaged .

Disadvantages: NONE
May 1, 2020
I received this package in the mail only a few days after ordering. Not only was it priced very fairly, but the seller was very kind and accommodating, and replied to my inquiry lightning quick.

Advantages: The selection of pellets is really great. I appreciate that this sampler included the new JSB Hades pellet, which to my knowledge have only been out for about a year or so.

I also appreciated what a bargain this is. The shipping was an extra $15, which might be a dealbreaker for some people, however I knew that if I was going to buy a tin of each of these 14 pellets my total would run $300 or more. Overall, for $50 this really can't be beaten.

Disadvantages: Like the previous review on this item, the dividers in the case were broken. Thankfully, mine did not mix, just spread into the open slots that did not house pellets. Not a big deal.

The only thing that disappointed me was that my item did not come with any JSB Exact King Heavy pellets. The compartment it was supposed to be in was broken, and was filled with Crow Magnums, and just Crow Magnums. They do include the JSB Exact King MKII, which is the same grain, so, I don't really know what to make of it. It might not be a big deal at all. The chances that my rifle will fire well any one of the other 13 included is pretty high, so i'm not sweating about it.


SSPA Comment
We apologize for the problem and will send you replacement pellets for the JSB King Heavy right away
Jul 19, 2018
The choice of pellets that are offered in this sampler is excellent. A large group of commonly accurate brands and styles. This will really help you dial in the accuracy and find what your gun prefers. However, and I fault UPS for this more than I do the seller, my sampler arrived with multiple dividers broken and the pellets all mixed into large batches. Luckily I have experience with several of them in smaller calibers and know which is which, but a newer airgunner may not have that luxury. Many of the Polymags had the red tips broken off in shipping. I've ordered them by the tin in .22 and never had that issue.

Advantages: Large selection of typically good pellets for pellet fussy guns. Will make it easier to narrow down the most accurate for you specific gun without spending a fortune.

Disadvantages: Seller could possibly look at bubble wrap in shipping vs simply packaging paper as my sample box was beat up pretty good by UPS. The outside of the pellet container was double rubber banded to ensure it did not come open, however the inside dividers did not fare so well and cause several of the sections of pellets to end up as one jumbled mess. Again, I fault the shipping company more than the seller, but a better packaging option may need to be considered.
Dave (dtdtdtdt) about  Straight Shooters Pellet Sampler .177 :
Aug 25, 2017
I have used this and the earlier .177 samplers that also had the wadcutter and hollow point pellets. Worked great and added significantly to my knowledge of both my RWS 54 and FWB300SU accuracy and idiosyncrasies

Advantages: INEXPENSIVE WAY TO TEST LOTS OF PELLETS. I put together a test of lead-free pellets myself and spent over $200 getting the range of pellets together.

Disadvantages: None really but I would like to see the wadcutter & HP pack available again.
Aug 6, 2017
Would suggest this to anyone in search of the most accurate pellet for their gun!

Advantages: Money saver if you are wanting to test this many pellets, which I am.

Disadvantages: Wish they had a second set of 25 more types, and I would buy that too!
John Klein about  Field .177 4.52, 8.44g, Dome 500ct:
Jul 10, 2017
This customer purchased the item at our site.
Exceptional service and great advice lead me to Craig and this pellet. The tins come with one foam liner in the lid and the one I have shot through had no deformed pellets in it. I am not at a level of measuring and weighing pellets at this point, however, I do single load into the breech and each pellet has the same feel and none have been over tight or the opposite – loose. Each engages the rifling and inserts with the same predictable mannerisms. I have had some JSB’s in the past that varied so much within the same tin that I felt like I should have received several different tins. The results on target were as expected. The results with these Air Arms pellets have been tremendous from my TM 1000. Every pellet going were I aim each time I pull the trigger. I have not been disappointed by the quality control and it is obvious to me that they are sorted well at the factory before going into the tin. Nice tight groups and consistent FT performance. Equally at home on paper or on the range knocking down FTs.

Advantages: Consistent shot to shot performance. Clean pellets inside the tin and leaving little residue on the fingers. No damaged pellet skirts or deformed heads. Steady goes the trigger pull and aim and on target goes the pellet.

Disadvantages: Availability of the 4.52 head size. Hard to think of any other disadvantages. No screw on lid – just use one from a big box store brand pellet and relabel the tin.
Dec 27, 2016
I got the g.t.o. pellets in a .22 sample pack along with 17 others .I had been looking to go lead free for a long time but didnt hear anything good about them, and had even less luck with the p.b.a. types
I was extremely surprised what they could do beeing a "super lite" pellet. WOW HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY!!

Advantages: I shoot a benjamin N.P.S.S.2,
Big gun lots (some would say too much) power. I have tryed literally 25+ types of pellets in this rifle with nothing better than an inch plus. 25g down to 13g jumbo R.S.
I was about to chuck this gun in the ocean after a full year plus of working with it. Imagine my happiness when my first group was in the sub 1" category at 25yards (75')
So Next round I moved back to 40yards (120') and with a 5-7m.p.h. crosswind I put 4 in less than a HALF INCH and the 5th beeing a flyer opened her up to 1 1/2"

Disadvantages: Little pricey, but hey Ill buy anthing that works in my gun at this point, these pellets my have saved the n.p.2 from a swim!!!
Thanks straight shooters, and J.S.B.
Another totaly happy customer
Oct 17, 2016
Surprisingly good, from a company that generally makes just OK airgun products. Lube them with Whiscombe Honey (Google it) and they are MAGIC in a 15-20 FPE PCP airgun. I shoot these out of my Marauder at 18 FPE, and a shot sideways through the torso of a big squirrel barely slows them down. One time, I shot a big gray squirrel in from the front in the shoulder. I went through the shoulder bone, all through the guts, out the belly, into the hind leg, through the quadricep muscle, broke the knee, and stopped just behind there, in the leg. Much as I want my Marauder to like some exotic JSB or H&N, it prefers the humble CPH's.

Advantages: Hard alloy, they don't deform easily. They penetrate like nothing else in their weight class. Uniformity is good, and they often outshoot more expensive pellets in higher-powered air rifles.

Disadvantages: Must be lubed for above 700 fps, or else they'll lead the bore, since they're alloyed with antimony.
Oct 1, 2016
Great pellet started using GTO .25 in my fx bobcat it's the most accurate non lead pellet it's about time thank you Jsb .

Advantages: Accurate no lead didn't have to readjust scope

Disadvantages: None so far
Mike B about  JSB Exact .22 Heavy:
Jan 19, 2016
Craig suggested these pellets & my New Wildcat .22 that I just bought loves these pellets, 8 shots thru the same hole at 50 yards no wind.

Advantages: Heavy, pellets look very consistent

Disadvantages: None
Jan 19, 2016
This are one of the two best pellets I have run thru my new .22 Cal Wildcat

Advantages: Tack Driver pellets. Price

Disadvantages: None
Mike B about  Hill Hand Pump-Gen 5:
Jan 19, 2016
Craig suggested this pump saying it was the best, after putting it together & adding 100 Bar to my new air rifle in less than 2 minutes. It is very Heavy Duty & should last me my lifetime.

Advantages: Very Heavy Duty Pump & pumps up my air gun from 50 to 230 Bar in less than 5 minutes.

Disadvantages: Wish the pump had a rebuild kit included for the price.
Dan Zuerner about  H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme .25:
Dec 31, 2015
Absolutely deadly in my AA S510 Walnut. Ragged single hole groups at 10 yards. 3/8" to 1/2" groups with every pellet touching center at 30 yards. Don'e be afraid to try this one. They hit hard.
Dan Zuerner about  H&N Baracuda .25:
Dec 31, 2015
Terrific performance in my Air Arms S510 Walnut - very tight groups with all shots of a 5 shot group touching each other at 30 yards.
Dan Zuerner about  Exact Kings 25 Heavy - 33.95 grain:
Dec 31, 2015
The very best performing pellet in my AA S510. very tight groups with all shots of a 5 shot group touching each other at 30 yards - almost one ragged hole.
Dan Zuerner about  Benjamin .25 Pellets:
Dec 31, 2015
Terrific performance in my Air Arms S510 Walnut - very tight groups with all shots of a 5 shot group touching each other at 30 yards.

Advantages: Highly polished - look great & shoot well

Disadvantages: Have found a couple of deformed pellets in my most recent tin
Happy Schieberle about  Carbon Fiber Tank:
Jul 4, 2015
very nice but if you are going to have it filled at a fire station be sure and buy the adapter.
Bob Walser about  JSB Exact .177 Heavy:
Jun 15, 2015
My RWS Model 52 shoots the standard weight pellets (around 8 grs) with such force accuracy is about 1 inch at 10 meters. According to H&N factory tech the high pressure distorts the light weight pellets. the JSB Exact 10.34 gr. slow the velocity down a little and the heavier construction make it a very accurate pellet. .10 and .120 5 shot groups at 10 meters. This pellet is definitely worth a try.

Advantages: Super accurate and high ballistic coefficient.

Disadvantages: No screw top tin.
Glenn about  H&N Baracuda Green .22:
May 28, 2015
These pellets were undamaged, clean and VERY consistent in head diameter, skirt diameter, overall length and weight. This consistency and the quality of my (TX200) provided a standard deviation of (3fps) which equaled incredible accuracy out to 35yds. I've been using these pellets since 2010 and I've discovered that they work best at or below (18ft/lbs). When you go higher than (20ft/lbs) accuracy begins to diminish rapidly over distance.

Advantages: These pellets are very clean and there is no lead dust to breath in or wash of your hands. They're also very smooth and fast out of the barrel. I gained 100 feet per second over other pellets in the same weight range. Finally and perhaps most importantly they're very consistent in size and weight resulting in great accuracy.

Disadvantages: These tin pellets are considerably harder than lead and provide excellent penetration; however, there is little or no deformation to the pellet upon impact, indicating that less kinetic energy is transferred to the quarry. It is for this reason that I only use head shots on small game. In the last 5 years I've taken chipmunks, squirrels, skunks an armadillo and a turkey all with head shots from 10 to 35 yards. I've taken pigeons and crows with body shots out to 75 yards and they were instant kills. These pellets are light and the wind will push them off target. My 75 yard shots were taken on dead calm days.
Raptortrapper about  H&N Baracuda Green .22:
Apr 1, 2015
GREAT pellet! I ordered this pellet because I wanted a lead free pellet for hunting small game that would then be fed to my falconry birds. Using my RWS 460 in 22 caliber, this pellet out shot lead pellets at 30 yards! I will be using this for all hunting situations from now on. Haven't tested beyond 30 yards, but I was able to easily cover 4 shots with a nickel at 30 yards. Fifth shot only missed by a smidge, and I'm sure it was me, not the gun or pellet. That is more than enough accuracy for the yardages I shoot while hunting. I expect 40 and possibly 50 yard groups to be quarter sized at the largest, which is GREAT for me.

Advantages: Lead free. Snug fit in the chamber. Superb accuracy out of my RWS 460. Very clean in the tin. I expect this to be an absolutely potent hunting pellet.

Disadvantages: Not a thing!
Paul Kaufmann about  JSB Exact .22 Heavy:
Feb 21, 2015
These pellets were recommended to me by Craig at Straightshooters, and I am very glad he did. I am new to the world of airguns, and since my intention is a serious hunting rifle, he told me to run a tin of these through the rifle to smooth things out and get used to the gun. I got them along with a RWS 460, and I can't believe how these pellets are doing out of this gun! I shot about half of the tin through the gun, not really aiming at anything. The gun started feeling pretty smooth, so I mounted the scope and sighted in at 10 yards. It was a very easy process, and the first group of 3 shots after zeroing at 10 yards was WELL under a half inch. I haven't gone through the process of finding the pellet that this gun likes, but I believe it is going to be pretty hard to beat these. I have the sampler from Straightshooters, and I will certainly go through the process of finding the "right" pellet for this gun, but man, it is going to take a pretty special performance to overtake the JSB Exact Heavy Diablos. Just after zeroing at 10 yards, I took a Eurasian Collared Dove at 15 yards that fell dead and didn't even twitch. The pellet did it's job, and I'm already extremely happy with the setup I have. If it gets better than this, I will be having more fun than one human should be allowed to have.

Advantages: I like the .22 caliber simply because they are easier for my fat fingers to hold on to. As far as the pellet itself, I think it is great! It shoots very well so far out of a brand new rifle, hits like a brick, and is very consistent. As of today, I've taken three critters with this pellet, and none of them knew what hit them. I'm trying hard not to be biased towards this pellet before going through the process of finding the "right" pellet for this gun, but it is becoming more and more difficult.

Disadvantages: None so far. This pellet has been very accurate, very consistent, and very deadly. What could POSSIBLY be a disadvantage??
May 1, 2014
This is a MUST for anyone who wants to shoot straight and hit the target.

I set a target 10 yards away, took my break-barrel and started shooting each type of pellet at a time. After shooting 6 pellets of the same kind I'd go to the target with a ruler to measure the spread between the farthest sides of the farthest holes. The results were amazing! While some 6-shot groups grouped to over an inch, others grouped to 3/4 inch, and one - Napier - to 1/4 inch. I never even heard of that brand but this collection allowed me to discover what is best for my gun!

Advantages: Opens your eyes to what pellets are best for your gun - makes a huge difference in accuracy.

Disadvantages: None really.
Mae Reed about  JSB Exact .22 Heavy:
Apr 23, 2014
I bought the pellet sampler. I picked a 80 deg.day no wind. 40yd target and tested all pellets, 10 shots on bench rest. This pellet gave me 3/4in. groups more consistently then all other pellets in the sampler-WTH, I bought more daaa.